Up to the Ramsenstock
Rosenburg Castle, the destination of this walk, is situated at the top, at the edge of Ramsenburg forest. The ascent is steep. At the end, an ancient building from the 12th century awaits as a reward. It was built when the knights of Rorschach held sway over Herisau. The hike up to Ramsenstock mountain also offers spectacular views – across the Fürstenland to Lake Constance and over the Appenzell hills to Mount Säntis. The records mention Rosenburg Castle for the first time in 1270. Initially, it served to protect against attacks, and later on it functioned more like a manor house. In 1396, Rosenburg Castle was sold to St. Gallen Abbey and in 1403, during the Appenzell War, it was destroyed. In the 1930s, the remains of the castle were excavated and conserved. The remains of the tower house and another residential building can still be identified. And a deep well has been preserved in the courtyard. The buildings are surrounded by a moat and a ring wall that are clearly visible.
Image and text: Jolanda Spengler
Tour Information
369 m
369 m
easy to middle
8.5 km
Route
Herisau, station – Gossauerstrasse – Hölzli – Stelz – Zellersmüli – Mösli – Ramsen – Ramsenburg – Flue – Obere Hueb – Stierweid – Brugg – Herisau, station
Maps
Information
-
Parking is available at Herisau station.